Page 1 of 1

"Remember me" doesn't remember me?

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:41 am
by AnzaPower
Hello, I have searched the forums but found no mention of this yet...

I always tick the "remember me" checkbox whenever I sign in to ProjectEuler but the next day I'm logged out, is the login session supposed to expire after 1 day?

I've tried clearing cookies and I have reformatted my PC recently and it's still the same, I'm using Firefox, gonna try to see if Chrome gets remembered...

Re: "Remember me" doesn't remember me?

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:42 am
by TripleM
It works fine for me; but see: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2665#p28644

Re: "Remember me" doesn't remember me?

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 2:29 pm
by euler
Thanks for finding that post, TripleM, and taking the time to reply. I was going to check out this issue when I got home from work as I had forgotten how I had implemented the "Remember Me" feature!?! :oops:

Re: "Remember me" doesn't remember me?

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:55 pm
by AnzaPower
TripleM wrote:It works fine for me; but see: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2665#p28644
http://i1.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/ori ... oblem6.jpg

Thanks for the answer TripleM, I shut down my ADSL modem at night and when I turn it on again it gets a new IP...

euler is there no way you can make it remember me by cookies? cookies are delicious...

Re: "Remember me" doesn't remember me?

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:20 pm
by euler
Cookies are being used. However, the problem is that cookies, being delicious, can be stolen by people that they don't belong to. I can't go into the details (for security reasons), but basically the cookie stored on your computer is cross referenced with an entry in the DB which holds a "signature" of your login station and part of that signature is based on the IP address. This means that each particular cookie is only good for the machine which you logged in at. You only stay logged in at that computer as long as the signature does not change. If the IP address changes then the signatures do not match and both your cookie and the entry in the DB are destroyed, requiring you to login again.