Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Announcements, comments, ideas, feedback, and "How do I... ?" questions
DeatH_StaR
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by DeatH_StaR » Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:53 am

hk wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:11 am
I can't reproduce errors. Perhaps your answers are incorrect?
If my answer is incorrect and I entered a valid confirmation code, the system tells me my answer is incorrect, not that my confirmation code is bad... I think its a check for the admins who could maybe force a specific code on the system (perhaps changing "javascript:this.src='captcha/show_captcha.php?'+Math.random();" to "javascript:this.src='captcha/show_captcha.php?55541';").

User avatar
jaap
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by jaap » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:08 am

DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:55 am
You have a bug in the confirmation check - many times I enter correct numbers but the system rejects me. Here is an example:
The captcha remains valid for a limited time. If the problem page has been open for a while, the captcha will have expired and hence fail even if you enter the right number. I almost always click the image to get a fresh captcha number before submitting. Maybe this is what is causing your problem.

DeatH_StaR
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by DeatH_StaR » Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:34 am

jaap wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:08 am
DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:55 am
You have a bug in the confirmation check - many times I enter correct numbers but the system rejects me. Here is an example:
The captcha remains valid for a limited time. If the problem page has been open for a while, the captcha will have expired and hence fail even if you enter the right number. I almost always click the image to get a fresh captcha number before submitting. Maybe this is what is causing your problem.
Makes sense. So I think that if you submit a page after a long time, the system would say "Please enter a new capcha" instead of "Your capcha is incorrect" (in the GET/POST request in addition to the capcha send a long with the current timestamp).

User avatar
hk
Administrator
Posts: 10113
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:34 am
Location: Haren, Netherlands

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by hk » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:22 pm

Now that you know how things are the problem seems solved to me.
Did you try already if your answer is correct?
Image

DeatH_StaR
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by DeatH_StaR » Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:04 pm

hk wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:22 pm
Now that you know how things are the problem seems solved to me.
Did you try already if your answer is correct?
I may not be the only one to notice - a bug is a bug... Fix it - it is an easy fix...
And if I reload the page I can enter the code.

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:17 pm

DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:53 am
If my answer is incorrect and I entered a valid confirmation code, the system tells me my answer is incorrect, not that my confirmation code is bad.
@DeatH_StaR: Am I missing something here? This sounds normal: You enter the wrong answer and a valid confirmation code and the system accepts the confirmation code and tells you the answer is incorrect.

You said there is an image in your first post, but I can't see it, so I'm unable to determine what the error actually is.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

DeatH_StaR
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by DeatH_StaR » Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:48 pm

euler wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:17 pm
DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:53 am
If my answer is incorrect and I entered a valid confirmation code, the system tells me my answer is incorrect, not that my confirmation code is bad.
@DeatH_StaR: Am I missing something here? This sounds normal: You enter the wrong answer and a valid confirmation code and the system accepts the confirmation code and tells you the answer is incorrect.

You said there is an image in your first post, but I can't see it, so I'm unable to determine what the error actually is.
That was not the issue. The issue was that I entered an answer and a good valid confirmation code, and the system doesn't tell me if my answer was good or not, but tells me my confirmation code was bad.
As I was pointed out - if the page was open for a long time, the code becomes "stale" and I need to refresh the page to get a new code that is working. I say that when an answer is submitted, first check if the code is fresh enough, and only then check if it is good or not.

User avatar
hk
Administrator
Posts: 10113
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:34 am
Location: Haren, Netherlands

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by hk » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:25 pm

DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:04 pm
hk wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:22 pm
Now that you know how things are the problem seems solved to me.
Did you try already if your answer is correct?
I may not be the only one to notice - a bug is a bug... Fix it - it is an easy fix...
And if I reload the page I can enter the code.
So if you reload there is no problem.
Image

DeatH_StaR
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by DeatH_StaR » Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:56 am

hk wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:25 pm
DeatH_StaR wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:04 pm
hk wrote:
Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:22 pm
Now that you know how things are the problem seems solved to me.
Did you try already if your answer is correct?
I may not be the only one to notice - a bug is a bug... Fix it - it is an easy fix...
And if I reload the page I can enter the code.
So if you reload there is no problem.
It's not a major bug but a minor one. But it is still a bug...

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:07 pm

I've modified the scripts so that every 10 minutes the image/confirmation code is automatically changed. During this time it should not expire. Of course, in an incredibly rare situation a member will enter an answer just short of 10 minutes and just as they click "Check" it will change, but given the very small chance of that happening compared to the the benefits to not needing to manually update the image it is probably worth it.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

User avatar
mscha
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:55 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by mscha » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:25 pm

After posting a long post in the solution forum for p594, I thought it would be nice to add a (Unicode) emoji after the first line ("Whew!"). Edit, paste emoji, save.
At that point, my post consisted of just "Whew!", and the emoji, and everything after it, was simply thrown away, so I had to type in the entire post again.

It would be nice if the forum would not do that.
Image

User avatar
hk
Administrator
Posts: 10113
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:34 am
Location: Haren, Netherlands

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by hk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:52 pm

I've been able to reproduce this problem.
I'll draw the attention of our technical man to it.
Image

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:40 am

@mscha: I've modified the DB charset to include the full range of 4 byte Unicode characters. Your posts should now process properly.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

MuthuVeerappanR
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:30 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by MuthuVeerappanR » Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:09 am

euler,
Not an Error/Warning/Bug. Just a suggestion. Can you please move the 'Remember Me' option in the sign-in page before the 'Sign in' button? That seems to be the way in many sites and I'm used to the 'Tab - Space - Tab - Space' routine. With our configuration in PE, it directly signs in without the 'Remember Me' option.

Not a big deal but will be nice, I think.

Thanks
Muthu Veerappan R
Image
It is not knowledge, but the act of learning, not possession but the act of getting there, which grants the greatest enjoyment.

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:55 pm

Good suggestion, Muthu Veerappan R. I've made the changes.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

MuthuVeerappanR
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:30 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by MuthuVeerappanR » Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:05 pm

Thanks euler. Seeing that no reply was made for a long time, I thought the suggestion was discarded. Thanks again.
Image
It is not knowledge, but the act of learning, not possession but the act of getting there, which grants the greatest enjoyment.

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:13 pm

I've been away for four days and just got back.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

mr66
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:32 pm

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by mr66 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:52 pm

Hello
I found a strange behaviour in archive overview.

I was logged in and I set a sorting order(solvers decreasing)
in the archives view of the problems.

Then I had a time of inactivity so that I silently was logged off.
After that I switched to the "recent" view and back to "archive" view.

The sorting order remained as I set (solvers decreasing) though there
isn't any possibility of changing sorting order when not be logged in.
[I would have expected getting standard order (i.e. sorting by problem number)]

Could you check please (or isn't that a bug, but a feature?)
Thank you.
BR matthias

User avatar
hk
Administrator
Posts: 10113
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:34 am
Location: Haren, Netherlands

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by hk » Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:10 pm

That's a feature.
You can read all about it here.
Image

User avatar
euler
Administrator
Posts: 2995
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Errors/Warnings/Bugs

Post by euler » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

Actually @mr66 I think I realise what you mean. If you get signed out due to inactivity and did not select Remember Me then the cookies which maintain the sort state of the problem tables do not get deleted. I've modified the script so that if you are signed out and it detects that the cookies are set then it ensures that all cookies, with the exception of the two mentioned in the Privacy Policy page that @hk pointed you to.

Thanks for letting me know and please get back if it doesn't work as expected and/or you notice some other side effect.
Image
impudens simia et macrologus profundus fabulae

Post Reply